Main Menu

Explore More

Leadership for learning

Leadership for Learning:

Advanced Leadership Development Institute for “2019-2020 Early Career” Superintendents

 

2019
9:00am - 11:45am

Wednesday, July 31
Thursday, September 19
Thursday, October 17
Thursday, November 14
Thursday, December 19

2020
9:00am - 11:45am

Thursday, January 23
Thursday, February 6
Thursday, March 26
Thursday, April 23
Thursday, May 21

LOCATION
CAPSS
26 Caya Avenue
West Hartford, CT

This Institute is part of an ongoing partnership between CAPSS and the Department of Educational Leadership in the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut.

Professional learning for superintendents is often poorly organized, challenging to provide, and essential for developing and extending leadership capacity for continuous district improvement. Superintendent learning flourishes when there is a purposeful professional learning community with a clear focus on actual problems of practice.

The Institute is intended to develop a networked-community of practice for early career superintendents (generally superintendents in their first and second year in the position of superintendent).  The participant will be expected to commit to active participation in each session and be willing to share their evolving district leadership theories of action and district leadership problems of practice which will become the primary content of the Institute sessions.  Key themes and discussion topics will also be identified with the group for each session.

This Institute is intended for superintendents new to the position and also superintendents in their first and second year in the position.  CAPSS will invite “new” superintendents to participate as soon as possible after the appointment of the superintendent.